Happy 2016!! How about some Soup!!

19 Comments

Yes I am still Alive!!! ๐Ÿ˜›

I know, I know I have not blogged in forever, but I have been very busy with work and other things.

Plus I don’t cook up a ton of things for me on a daily basis, and when I do cook for my family I am so busy doing multiple things that I forget to take pictures, and if I do I don’t often have a lot of time to blog it all out. ย So I am sorry for those who care, and I will try harder this upcoming year!!

So this would be something I would not blog about since its just something plan I would come up with, but I thought I just better share this to let everyone know I am still kickin ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL

So yesterday on my day off I thought okay you have stuff in the fridge you need to use, so I made Soup.

I call it “Winter Soup” or “What else can I put in this” Soup ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL

IMG_4027

I also had gotten a four pack of bone-in chicken breast out of the freezer to make some room ๐Ÿ˜›

Okay so I don’t have a recipe here because really it was a what can I throw into this pot kind of soup.

And I think that is what we all need to think more of when we have things in our fridges that need to be used. Or your pantry, heck if you have can veggies do it, or cans of tomatoes or sauce, what about pasta or rice, your options are endless!!!

So this is what I started with, cabbage, zucchini, carrots and beans.

IMG_4010

Chopped it all up and I added about 2 cups of chicken broth(had some left in the fridge), I cooked it in the oven on 325 degrees for 2 hours

IMG_4011

then I added about 4 more cups of broth, I love using “better than bullion” soup base, so I had a little beef flavor left scraped that in there and then some Turkey. ย Just mix that up with 4 cups of hot water added a onion power and dill. ย I love dill in soup, and I love using the tube herbs, I just don’t use fresh herbs quick enough so I do buy some of those tube herbs you can find in your produce dept. ย So whisked all that up and poured it right on in.

Cooked at 350 degrees now for about 1 hour, then I added the beans about 4 cups, not that whole jar, mixed, then check for seasonings, I add some crushed celery seed, more tube dill, kosher salt and white pepper. ย Back in the oven for 30 minutes.

IMG_4013

IMG_4019

adding the celery seed and my tube dill ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_4016

Like I said I had chicken breast, so I just bought a new kitchen gadget, it was my Christmas present to myself…

Table Top Halogen Oven

IMG_3988

 

Now I love it, the first thing I cooked in it was a Steak, a Frozen Steak!!! ย  Steak (bone-in rib eye) was about 1 inch thick, I took it out of the freezer, salted and peppered each side, and in 25 minutes I had the most perfect medium rare steak…It was delish!!!

Now I know the haters are going to hate, I NOT telling you buy it, this just works for me and I like it ๐Ÿ™‚

So I put two of the chicken breast in it and let it go, yes can I use the oven, of course, but I like this and wanted to use it, I can see it cooking and like the easiness ๐Ÿ™‚

So here’s my chicken cooking, of course once it was done again I forgot to take pictures…sorry, but it they looked great.

IMG_4029

So I shredded some of the chicken

IMG_4017

and added it to the soup, and it was done and ready to eat.

IMG_4028

I have soup for the next week and I frozen half of it too, I like doing this so its easy to bring out and heat out when you need something quick.

So what do you have in your fridge right now that you can throw into a pot and make your own

“Winter Soup”

Enjoy everyone!!

IMG_4022

19 thoughts on “Happy 2016!! How about some Soup!!

  1. Well, I have been cooking for 55 years and I never heard of making soup in the oven. Hey, but why not? That’s why I love home made soup, you can put whatever you have into the pot. It may come out different every time, but it’s always good. I have missed your smiling face!!!

    • Thank you Aunt Rep!! I want to do it in the oven to kind of braise the veggies, mainly to bring more sweetness out of the cabbage. Then just added broth to make it more of a soup, although there is more veggies then broth…but that is okay!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment